Flying the Flag 2019-2020

The ‘Flying the Flag’ competition was the idea of Gary Thurgood and started in 1997-98.  The idea is quite simple; to reward those who compete regularly in local races, wearing their club kit and “flying the flag” for Yaxley Runners. Running capability or distance is not a factor as the quickest runners in the club are rewarded in other ways.

Points are awarded as follows:

  • 1 point for any competitive race completed.
  • 1 point for competing in a club ‘handicap’ race.
  • 1 bonus point can be earned by competing in a complete series e.g. Frostbite Friendly league, Peterborough 5k Grand Prix series, Cambs AAA road race league
  • 1 point for completing in special events such as the Werrington Guestimate or the  Bushfield “Pub run”.

Although the series is primarily about promoting the club, exception will be made for not wearing a club vest/shirt, for example when wearing a charity top or if on holiday abroad when you discover a local race and decide to run!

Flying the Flag 2019-20 (as at 16 June)
Member Races
Charlotte Sortwell 3
Dawn Friend 3
Dean Longman 3
Raeanne Elliott 3
Sharron Toms 3
Andy Savage 3
Geoffrey Clark 2
David Towns 2
Charlotte Cole 2
Deborah Cook 2
Gemma Toogood 2
Tracy Farrow 2
Leah Capon 2
Kathryn Hawkswell 2
Simon Hawkswell 2
Louise Alexander 2
Helen Joyce 2
Kayleigh Draper 2
Rob Coles 2
Gina Crane 2
Carry Murphy 2
Paul McCarthy 2
Ian Vallance 2
Jayne Stringer 2
Jean Maggs 2
Karen Freeman 2
Kirstin Homewood 2
Lesley Coles 2
Mathew Bone 2
Claire Piercy 2
Darren Hillier 1
David Whitwell 1
Duncan Jackson 1
Emily Hawke 1
Emily Walker 1
Abigail Branston 1
Amanda Britton 1
Andrew Little 1
Angus Marshall 1
Anna Devine 1
Barbara Johnson 1
Bob Smith 1
Caroline Woods 1
Mike Branston 1
Nina Wright 1
John Ackroyd 1
Helena Potgieter 1
Hugh Burton 1
Rob Smith 1
Roslyn Loutit 1
Sarah Hazeltine 1
Daniel Snipe 1
Emma McGee 1
Darren Maddison 1
Jonathan Sortwell 1
Adrian Flintoft 1
Stephanie Holyoak 1
Karen Ives 1
Wendy Freeman 1
Steve Joy 1
Steve Megson 1
Anne Coles 1
Adam Blake 1
Edyta Nightingale 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>