Flying the flag 2013-14

The ‘Flying the Flag’ competition was the idea of Gary Thrugood and started in 1997-98.  The idea is quite simple; to reward those who compete regularly in local races, wearing their club kit and “flying the flag” for Yaxley Runners. Running capability or distance is not a factor as the quickest runners in the club are rewarded in other ways.

Points are awarded as follows:

  • 1 point for any competitive race completed.
  • 1 point for competing in a club ‘handicap’ race.
  • 1 bonus point can be earned by competing in a complete series e.g. Frostbite Friendly league, Peterborough 5k Grand Prix series, Cambs AAA road race league
  • 1 point for completing in special events such as the Werrington Guestimate or the  Bushfield “Pub run”.

Although the series is primarily about promoting the club, exception will be made for not wearing a club vest/shirt, for example when wearing a charity top or if on holiday abroad when you discover a local race and decide to run!

Flying the Flag standings for 2013-14 as at 12 May 2014:

Mark Hazlehurst65
Ian Vallance60
Paul Atherfold54
Barbara Johnson39
Mike Barker39
Lorraine Howard34
James Mogridge29
Neil Bason29
Hugh Burton28
Kyle Ballantyne28
Kevin Peel28
Steve Megson28
Karen Ives26
Paul McCarthy25
Mark Evans25
Gavin Farrow24
Petro Bartosyk24
Anna Totterdell23
Laura Conway22
Gary Masters21
Roslyn Loutit20
Sara Davis19
Bob Smith19
Jim Grant18
Mike Morley18
Richard Turner18
Sue Harlow16
Sharron Toms16
Claire Piercy15
Nikki Timms14
Dean Longman14
Sharn Phagoora14
Natasha Johnson14
Tracy Farrow13
Duncan Jackson13
Corinne Morgan12
Sally Evans12
Rob Smith12
Neil Fyfe12
John Ackroyd12
Kerry Balmer12
Steve Joy-Good12
Rob Coles12
Jack Little11
Nina Wright11
Tamara Cook11
Simon Hunt10
Sarah Smith10
Simon Perkins10
Matt Lauch10
Lesley Coles10
Charlotte Hamling9
Andrew Johnson9
Claire Duncan9
John Harper8
Don Brazier8
Peter Thompson8
Andrew Head8
David Robinson8
Adam Bullers7
Raj Mondair7
Anne Meadows7
Sarah Endicott7
Sue Thorpe6
Jim Katter6
Julie Daniels6
Philip Carline6
Gary Thurgood5
Sarah Caskey4
Oliver Carpenter4
Susan Williams4
Carol Riley4
Howard Jones4
Karen Freeman4
Mathew Bone4
Geoff Brown4
Val Stone4
Suzie Hall4
Stuart Reed4
David Cook3
Jamie Toms3
Graham Cooke3
Adrian Flintoft3
Alan Good3
Colin Berridge3
Chris Hewitt3
Richard Vernon2
Daniel Johnson2
Michelle Overton2
Francis Sykes2
Annette Bonsor2
Andrew Burgess2
Helen Delandro1
Joanne Salisbury1
Mathew Stearn1
Stephen Milne1
Suzanne Galbraith1
Chris Burke1
Caroline Woods1
Kewal Shah1
Mark Thomas1
Clif Abbott1
Sean Murphy1
Cathy Semple1


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *